Postcards from the kayak

A couple of days ago I went out on the kayak around sunset. I paddled around the north end of Herron Island, then crossed the Case Inlet and headed southwest to McMicken Island (map). Kind of choppy water: winds around 7mph from the southwest – oops!, but tide was going out in my direction, so that helped.

On the way back the tide had started coming in (yes, the timing was planned!), and by this time the wind was on my back. Sweet.

Total distance: a little over 4 nautical miles. And I lingered a bit to watch the sun come down.

Here are a couple of photos.

Land! McMicken Island is the small lump with the beach a little to the left of center; Harstine Island is in the background.

land! (McMicken Island)

Sunset from the kayak.

kayak sunset

This entry was posted in Harstene Island, Herron Island, Key Peninsula, Northwest, photography, postcard, sunset and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Postcards from the kayak

  1. kayakyrstin says:

    I know you do mainly photography all around but I’m definitely interested in as many places to kayak around the Seattle Area as possible 🙂 so thanks for posting this, and if you know of any other seattle area kayak bloggers can you tell me their blog names so I can connect with them?

Feel free to post a comment: